Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
Maya beginner
02-19-2008, 11:34 AM
Maya beginner
I installed Maya learning edition. Now I want to start with Maya. Not sure where to start. Since I have some programming background I think learning MEL will be easy. What you guys suggest?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-24-2008, 03:40 PM (This post was last modified: 02-28-2008 08:01 AM by Nihal.)
RE: Maya beginner
ya but to go ahead with mel you should know how the engines inside maya works.... try starting with modelling tools in maya........as you get more into the tools you can get to know about engine.

also in help there is a section called MEL commands where you get all the mel commands in maya and the description for that also. that would be really helpful for you.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
02-25-2008, 06:42 PM (This post was last modified: 02-28-2008 08:03 AM by Nihal.)
Hi programmer,

Good to see your intrest towards the graphics feild. Personally i feel, if you have a asthetic sence towards life that will be an added advantage in this 3d feild. This doesn't mean that you should be an artist or you have to knw the anatomy or even to draw. But a ordinary person with a passion to this feild can succeed. You have to deal with artists and if you could grasp their needs with a artistic mind, that's it.

Also like any platform you have to know the interface of the particular software and the pipeline of the production. May be here a little bit hard to get into the flow, but once you done.......then rock yourself.........anyway good luck........
02-25-2008, 07:27 PM
Thanks for your inputs.
Martin Wrote:Also like any platform you have to know the interface of the particular software and the pipeline of the production. May be here a little bit hard to get into the flow, but once you done.......then rock yourself.........anyway good luck........

But what is that pipeline of the production?
02-26-2008, 06:55 PM